And The English Scream Foul Again

In yet another display of the lack of sportsmanship exhibited by some athletes Diego Maradona admits to using his hand. My apologies to my US readers who are already bored reading this.

BUENOS AIRES, Argentina – Diego Maradona acknowledged that he struck the ball with his hand in the famous “Hand of God” goal against England in the 1986 World Cup quarterfinals.

Speaking on his local television talk show Monday night, Maradona called one of soccer’s most controversial goals “something that just came out of me. It was a bit of mischief.”

Maradona appeared to punch the ball into the net, and officials allowed the goal to stand despite protests by the English team. Argentina went on to win the 1986 quarterfinal match 2-1 and then win the World Cup.

In his most detailed comments yet, Maradona said he was unable to reach the ball for a header when he went up against the taller English goalkeeper, Peter Shilton.

Shilton “was very tall. He didn’t see anything, and a teammate told him” afterward what happened, said Maradona.

After the score, Maradona said he quickly realized the line referee had allowed the goal but none of his teammates had rushed to celebrate with him — themselves figuring the goal would be waved off.

“I was waiting for my teammates to embrace me and no one came,” said Maradona, who was the team captain. “I told them, ‘Come hug me or the referee isn’t going to allow it.’

(Visited 39 times, 1 visits today)

Comments

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  
Please enter an e-mail address

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You may also like